Post Surgery: Day 1

Following surgery I was in the recovery room for about 30 mins. Generally I felt ok although a bit sick.  The surgeon came round and said the surgery went well and ‘needed to be done’, reassuring now that I had a 12 inch incisision to me knee. I was in a bit of a daze post surgery but can still remember everything and was then taken back up to the ward.

The next 12 hours I felt absolutely drained and really struggled to keep my eyes open so was just drifting in and out of consciousness. Ahead of the op one of my concerns was the initial pain in the immediate hours after it was complete; this wasn’t too bad thankfully and with just paracetamol and ibruprofen the first day I was reasonably comfortable but I suspect a lot of the drugs administered during the op were still in my system.

I had hamstring grafts taken from both knees and one of my fears was that my ‘good’ leg would be incapacitated nearly as severely as the ‘bad one’ in the short term. Thankfully this wasn’t the case and my ‘good’ knee was uncomfortable but nothing more than a twinge of the hamstring. There was still an incisision, staples and bruising but I think it is a case of all things being relative and compared to the other knee it was like a paper cut!

The first 24 hours I never left my bed and didn’t really move at all as I had a bed pan to go to the toilet and had food and drink brought to me.

Ultimately day 1 wasn’t as bad as I expected   . A combination of drugs and tiredness meant it passed relatively quickly.

One Reply to “Post Surgery: Day 1”

  1. Greetings! Verry useftul advvice inn this paticular post! It iis thee little changes tgat wipl make tthe mlst important changes.
    Thankks forr sharing! I coulpd nott reist commenting.
    Exceptioally welol written! Wayy cool! Some extremely vaalid points!

    I appreciate youu penning tjis write-up annd alsoo tthe
    reswt off tthe website iis rally good. http://foxnews.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

