The other half

There is no good time to rupture the ligaments in your knee but doing it when you have a 11 month old baby girl and a 3 year old boy isn’t ideal!

Once I found out from the surgeon I’d be none weight bearing for 6 weeks and then on crutches for another 6 weeks I was reticent about telling my wife as it probably wasn’t the news she was hoping for after initially I’d been told it was only going to be 2.  She wasn’t in the best of moods anyway as she was going back to work after a year of maternity leave and me being sofa bound and unable to help out was not going to improve things. Nevertheless it wasn’t like I could keep it a secret…


Thankfully we managed to get away for a week to Tenerife before my wife went back to work which was a bit of a ‘last supper’ before the operation.

Having initially injured my knee over 6 months ago I was keen to have the surgery as quickly as possible and was booked in for Sunday 2nd April (a week after getting back from holiday). This was an ideal date as my wife, after being back for only a week post maternity, was now off for Easter as she was a teacher.  This was a lifesaver as although I was in hospital for two nights, I couldn’t have coped for the first couple of days if she wasn’t about as it was so painful getting around on crutches I couldn’t really do anything for myself.

Once I got home it was obvious I was going to be a burden rather than a help.  I couldn’t get anything for myself, couldn’t take the kids to nursery or football or any of the other things I usually did. I couldn’t even enforce much authority from a static position on the sofa.  Thankfully my oldest son hasn’t quite realised quite how hollow my threats are yet and that if I tell him he can’t have another crisp/cracker/chocolate (or any other small food related item) there is not much I can do about it due to the time it takes me to get up onto my crutches.  Long may it stay this way…..

Easter couldn’t have come at a better time as 5 days of looking after me and the kids was starting to wear my wife out but there is one thing that will always make her happy (not me or family) – chocolate! Despite all the stuff going on my wife still managed to do a great job at the Easter bonnet competition and won first prize! Fin was very proud of himself as you can see!


It is now 19 day post op and my wife has started work again. I used to drop the kids off at nursery but that isn’t an option at the moment so she is having to do pretty much everything. After about 12 days I could get around on crutches a lot easier so I’ve been able to start doing basic stuff with my oldest son – cleaning his teeth, reading stories, putting him to bed, taking selfies.   I even wiped his bum a few days ago while balancing on one crutch (that is a secret between me and Fin though as I’ve told my wife I can’t do that at the moment and it is her job).  I can’t really do much with my daughter though as 10 month olds don’t really like to sitting on your knee and there is only so much time she’ll let me tickle her before she gets annoyed.


It sounds very cheesy but I don’t think I’m going to be able to say thank you enough for all the help my wife has given me since the op but as soon as I’m back on my feet I think I’ve got a lot of fathering to catch up on and she has a lot of sleeping to do!  It is also her birthday on Monday which again isn’t ideal – she has had a bit of a raw deal the last couple of years for birthdays as this time last year she was about 38 weeks pregnant. Better luck next year hopefully!

Leave a Reply

