Day 34: Surgeon appointment

I went to see the surgeon for the first time post op today. Following the surgery he was a bit sketchy as to what he had and hadn’t done so I was hoping to get a bit bit more info. 

Firstly he got me up on the bench and took the brace off so he could take a good luck at my knee. Before the appointment I had been on my feet quite a bit and with sitting in the car my knee had become quite bent and was not lieing flat. This was a bit of a red flag for the surgeon as he said the main thing to focus on between 4-6 weeks was to get the knee flat and stretch the ligaments to avoid permanently having a leg that couldn’t fully extend. Funnily enough this was contradictory to the advice from the physio who said the main aim was getting a 90 degree knee bend at 6 weeks – as I’ve said previously knees are far from an exact science and everyone seems to have a different opinion. 

The surgeon then took it upon himself to get my leg straight through brute force. He put one hand either side of my knee and put all his weight on it to force it straight. I thought the grafts were weakest in the first 12 weeks but he didn’t seem to care! He asked me if it hurt and where to which I simply replied “yes and everywhere!” 

Thankfully that was the last of the pain and we then had a chat about what he actually did and how it went. By all accounts it was pretty successful and everything got fixed as planned. There was a worry that the front of my knee around the kneecap and the meniscus was damaged but apart from a slight scuff on the kneecap that was all clear. Therefore the long term prognosis with respect to arthritis and a potential knee replacements is reasonably good as all the shock absorbers in my knee are still in tact – I didn’t broach playing basketball again…..

He also talked me through the pics they took with the camera. The pic below shows why I had to have a new MCL. 


The white line is effectively the MCL which is torn which leads to the knee opening up in the direction of the arrow. This leads to greater contact stresses between the tibia and fibia as the load is distributed over a smaller area and the potential for arthritis is increased. 

The next one shows the difference between the front of my meniscus and the back and it is clear to see the difference!


All in all not too bad a result and I’m booked in to see the surgeon again in 4 weeks to check I can get my knee straight of my own accord. Between now and then I’ll be concentrating on doing as many exercises as possible to avoid him jumping on my knee again!

Leave a Reply

